Best Traceability Software for Manufacturing (2026)

16 platforms compared by traceability depth, industry fit and verified cost, plus the hardware nobody quotes in the demo. Last verified September 2026.

Updated · By , Founder, MetaProject · How we rank

Every page ranking for "traceability software" today is either a vendor's own guide or a hardware catalog, and none of them tell you the two things that matter most: that the FSMA 204 deadline moved to July 20, 2028, and that "traceability" means five different levels of capability sold at prices from $49 a user to $500k an implementation. A 30-person snack maker that buys lot-controlled ingredients and ships to named customers can pass a mock recall on a $600-a-month MRP. An electronics contract manufacturer whose Tier 1 customer wants as-built serial genealogy with process parameters cannot — and the tool that fixes that is a different category, not a bigger license of the same thing.

This page separates dedicated traceability platforms from ERP and MES systems with strong lot control, and both from the RFID and barcode hardware layer they all depend on. It publishes the prices we could verify, quotes what reviewers complain about, prices the scanners and labels, and lays out the regulatory calendar as it actually stands in September 2026.

Editorial note. No vendor paid to be listed; sponsored placements, where present, are labeled. Sources and verification method are at the end of the page.

Quick answer

  • Small discrete or food maker, first move off spreadsheets: MRPeasy (lot and serial in every tier from $49/user/month; barcode scanning needs the $99 Enterprise tier) or Odoo ($24.90/user/month, configuration is the hidden cost).
  • Food and beverage plant that needs FSMA 204 records and recall reports in one click: Wherefour (from ~$600/month), SG Systems V5 ($90–180/user/month), or Mar-Kov (from CA$159/month).
  • Precision machine shop under AS9100 or ITAR: ProShop or Fulcrum — lot, serial and material certs on the job traveler, ITAR-ready.
  • Automotive tier or plastics molder needing genealogy captured from the machine: Plex or DELMIAWorks.
  • Electronics/EMS with serial-level as-built traceability: iTAC (Dürr) with Cogiscan.
  • Pharma serialization, DSCSA or EU FMD: rfxcel (Antares Vision) or Movilitas.Cloud.
  • Multi-partner food supply chain data sharing, not plant-floor control: Trustwell FoodLogiQ (from ~$32k/year) or Kezzler (also covers EU Digital Product Passport).

Comparison table

Vendor, Category, Traceability depth, Best-fit industries, Deployment, Pricing (verified), Company size, Named integrations, Compliance, Reviews
VendorCategoryTraceability depthBest-fit industriesDeploymentPricing (verified)Company sizeNamed integrationsComplianceReviews
SG Systems V5Dedicated MES/WMS/QMSLot genealogy, batch-to-bin, GS1-128, UDI serializationFood, supplements, pharma, cosmetics, chemicalsWeb + mobile$90 / $130 / $180 per user/mo (Capterra); trialSMB to mid processSage X3, D365 BC/GP, NetSuite, QuickBooks DesktopFSMA 204, Part 11, UDI, DSCSA, BRCGS, SQFCapterra 5.0 (1)
Mar-KovDedicated process MESLot, formula-level genealogy, barcode/RFIDFood, cosmetics, chemicals, supplementsCloud or on-premFrom CA$159/mo (Capterra); trialSmall to midQuickBooks, Sage 50, ShipStationPart 11 (claimed)Capterra 5.0 (7), G2 5.0 (5)
WherefourFood ERP-liteLot, one-click bidirectional trace, FSMA 204 KDE/CTECraft and specialty food, CBD, cosmetics, pet foodCloudFrom ~$600/mo; month-to-monthSmall to mid foodQBO/QBD, Xero, Sage Intacct, Shopify, ShipStation, MetrcFSMA 204Capterra 4.7 (63)
ParityFactory (Advantive)Plant-floor WMS/MESReal-time lot receipt→ship, GS1, catchweightFood, seafood, produceCloud/on-prem, scanner-centric"From $1,500" (Software Advice); quoteMid foodNetSuite, QuickBooks, Sage Intacct, D365, SYSPROFSMA 204G2 3.5 (2), SA 4.0 (3)
Trustwell FoodLogiQSupply-chain networkCTE/KDE across partners, recall creation, FDA sortable spreadsheetFood, CPG, growers, retailersCloud$32,000/yr Basic (Capterra)Mid to enterpriseAPI-basedFSMA 204Capterra 4.0 (1)
TraceGains (Veralto)Supplier complianceSupplier/ingredient documentation, specs — not lot genealogyMid-to-large F&BCloudQuoteMid to enterpriseUnknownFSVP/FSMA supplierGartner PI 5.0 (1)
rfxcel rTS (Antares Vision)SerializationUnit-level serialization, EPCIS, TI/TH/TSPharma, food, CPGCloudQuoteMid to enterpriseSAP/EPCISDSCSA, EU FMD, FSMA 204n/a
Movilitas.CloudSerializationSerialization, SSCC aggregation, digital twinsPharma CMOs, repackers, 3PLGAMP 5 validated SaaSQuoteMid pharmaSAP ATTP/ICH, TraceLink, Zebra, NiceLabelDSCSA, EU FMD, Part 11 via GAMP 5n/a
KezzlerConnected productsUnit serialization, GS1 Digital Link QR, DPPF&B, CPG, apparel, batteriesCloudQuoteMid to enterprise brandsUnknownFSMA 204, EU DPPnone
iTAC.MOM.Suite (Dürr)Enterprise MESSerial as-built genealogy, process interlocking, SMT (Cogiscan)Electronics/EMS, automotive, med-techOn-prem or cloudQuoteMid to large plantsSAP standardIATF, ISO 13485 environmentsnone
MRPeasySMB MRP/ERPLot, serial, expiry, forward/backward log, RMA recallGeneral discrete, small food, cosmetics, electronicsCloud$49 / $69 / $99 / $149 per user/mo; barcode from Enterprise ($99)10–200 employeesQBO, Xero, ShopifyLot/expiry basicsCapterra 4.5 (170)
KatanaSMB inventory/MRPBatch/lot, serial, expiry, barcode (add-on)D2C consumer goods, small foodCloudFree (30 SKUs); Core from $299/mo + Traceability add-on $249/mo; usage-meteredSmallShopify, QBO, Xeronone formalG2 4.4 (123), Trustpilot 2.1 (12)
FulcrumCloud ERP/MESLot/serial, material certs on travelers, audit trailsCNC, sheet metal, A&D, medical machiningCloudQuote10–150 person shopsAccounting connectorsAS9100D, ITARG2 4.9 (30)
ProShop ERPERP+MES+QMSLot/serial, cert management, as-built job recordsAerospace/defense, med-device machiningWeb, mobileQuote; Government edition (ITAR/CMMC)10–250 person shopsQBO, Sage 50AS9100, ISO 13485, ITAR, CMMC L2Capterra 4.8 (113)
Plex (Rockwell)Cloud ERP/MESFull serial/lot genealogy captured at the machine, error-proofingAutomotive tiers, metals, plastics, mid F&BCloud only~$500/user/mo, implementation $100k+ (ERP Research est.)51–1,000 employeesIs the ERP; SAP for MES-onlyIATF/PPAP/APQP, AS9100G2 4.0 (74)
DELMIAWorks (Dassault)ERP+MESSupplier lot and serial through WIP to shipment, genealogy, recall reportingPlastics, automotive, med-device, packagingOn-prem, private/public cloud~$25,000+/yr or ~$250/user/mo, 5-user min (est.)50–500 employeesIs the ERPIATF, AS9100, ISO 13485 environmentsSA 4.1 (290)

Also profiled below: Epicor Kinetic, Aptean Food & Beverage ERP, Fishbowl and Odoo (ERP lot tracking), and the hardware layer — Zebra, Cognex, Brady, Panatrack, TEKLYNX CODESOFT.

Five levels of traceability — figure out which one you need first

  1. Paper travelers and batch sheets. Works until the first real recall or customer audit.
  2. Barcode labels plus spreadsheets. Cheap and common; breaks the moment two people edit the sheet.
  3. ERP lot and serial records at receive, issue and ship. This is what MRPeasy, Odoo, Fishbowl, Katana and most ERPs give you, and it is enough for many SMBs — see below.
  4. Genealogy / as-built: parent-child lot links through every transformation, split, merge and rework. Plex, DELMIAWorks, iTAC, ProShop, SG Systems, Mar-Kov.
  5. Digital thread: machine data, process parameters and quality results attached to each serial and shared with partners via EPCIS, GS1 Digital Link or a Digital Product Passport. iTAC, rfxcel, Movilitas, Kezzler.

Datacor's lot-tracking guide puts the failure point precisely: "Real manufacturing rarely follows a neat one-lot-in, one-lot-out pattern… This is where many traceability systems break down." Level 3 systems assume it does.

When ERP lot tracking is enough: you buy lot-controlled materials, make single-level products, ship to identifiable customers, and your customers accept a trace report in hours, not minutes. When it isn't: multi-level BOMs with rework or regrade, bulk tanks and commingling, catchweight, kitting, toll or contract manufacturing, serial-level warranty (electronics, automotive), or any customer or regulator that wants process-parameter evidence — IATF 16949, AS9100, ISO 13485, 21 CFR Part 11 audit trails. Katana reviewers describe hitting that wall exactly: sales orders packed from more than one lot don't record correctly, and serial entry at 500–1,000 units is "extremely time consuming."

The vendors

Dedicated traceability and process-manufacturing platforms

Batch MES/WMS/QMS with lot genealogy GS1 labels UDI serialization

The deepest recipe-to-pallet coverage on this list: batch execution (eBMR), weigh-and-dispense, lot genealogy, batch-to-bin, GS1-128 labels and UDI serialization, with a QMS and LIMS integration on top. Capterra publishes tiers — Express $90, Professional $130, Enterprise $180 per user per month — though the vendor site itself only offers a quote builder. Claims 20-plus compliance frameworks (FSMA 204, Part 11, DSCSA, UDI, BRCGS, SQF, ISO 22000, GAMP 5) and named customers including Sysco, General Mills and Krispy Kreme. ERP connectors: Sage X3, Dynamics 365 BC and GP, NetSuite, QuickBooks Desktop. Public review footprint is a single Capterra review, which notes it is "a little difficult to set up" without vendor support. Its own #1-ranking guide for this keyword is thorough on concepts and silent on price and competitors.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
$90-180/user/mo

Pros

  • Offers three distinct modules covering execution (MES), quality (QMS), and warehouse (WMS) functions
  • Site organizes offerings by named regulated industries rather than a single generic pitch
  • Provides a free trial option for prospective users to evaluate the product

Cons

  • No pricing information published; buyers must book a demo to learn cost
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the site
  • Integration claims mention APIs and ERP connections but do not name specific systems supported

Process MES with formula-level lot genealogy and barcode/RFID

Toronto-based batch-process MES for food, cosmetics, chemicals, paints and supplements, cloud or on-premise. Reviewers praise "excellent lot tracking capabilities that allow you to find any combination" and a design that "prevents an error instead of correcting it." It integrates scales, scanners and PLCs and claims "bulletproof" Part 11 compliance. Weak spots from reviews: reports need Excel export to print, performance drops on large datasets, and — the recurring theme in this category — "significant upfront hardware investment (tablets, scanners, printers)." Accounting: QuickBooks, Sage 50. From CA$159 a month on Capterra.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
small plants
Pricing
From CA$159/mo

Pros

  • Documents electronic batch records and 21 CFR Part 11 compliant signatures on the Regulated plan
  • Supports integration with scales and PLC equipment to record weights and automate manufacturing steps
  • Includes a laboratory information management module for tracking samples, test results, and certificates of analysis

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to book a demo
  • Advanced compliance features such as 21 CFR Part 11 signatures are limited to the Regulated plan tier
  • The site does not specify which deployment option, SaaS or server-installed, applies to each plan

Food ERP-lite with one-click bidirectional trace and FSMA 204

The friendliest option for craft and specialty food makers: one-click forward, backward and bidirectional trace reports, custom barcode labels with expiry and location, FSMA 204 KDE/CTE records, all on a month-to-month contract with no long-term commitment. Third parties put it around $600 a month; the vendor doesn't publish a list. 63 Capterra reviews at 4.7 call it "very user friendly" with strong onboarding. The complaints cluster around integrations — Sage 50 unsupported, QuickBooks Online reportedly unreliable, limited Shopify linkage — and email-only support.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
~$600/mo

Pros

  • Documents lot-level inventory tracking with FIFO, FEFO, LIFO and custom lot selection
  • Includes a production module with batch costing and yield tracking
  • Provides MRP with one-click purchase order generation and scenario testing

Cons

  • No published price list; pricing requires a custom quote
  • Deployment model (cloud vs. on-premise) is not described on the site
  • Accounting integrations are named but configuration details are not documented

Plant-floor WMS/MES with real-time lot tracking and catchweight

Plant-floor WMS/MES for mid-size food processors — real-time lot tracking from receipt to ship, GS1 labeling, catchweight, scanners on every dock — sold with a 90-day fixed-cost implementation and a long ERP connector list (NetSuite, QuickBooks, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365 BC/GP/NAV, SYSPRO). It is meant to sit under an ERP, not replace it. Only five public reviews exist and one of them is blunt: "It is incredibly slow. It has run slowly for us ever since implementation." Do reference calls.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents automatic FIFO and GS1 labeling for lot tracing
  • Includes an optional quality module for data capture via handheld scanners
  • Integrates with multiple named ERP and accounting systems including NetSuite and QuickBooks

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must request a demo to learn cost
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the site
  • Quality control functionality (PF Quality) is an optional add-on rather than built in

Multi-partner food supply-chain traceability network (FSMA 204)

A supply-chain network, not a plant system: CTE/KDE capture across trading partners, lot-level forward and backward trace, FSMA 204 Electronic Sortable Spreadsheet export, recall creation. Adoption is largely retailer-driven — if Walmart or Kroger asks you to join, this is the platform they mean. Capterra lists $32,000 a year for the Basic edition. It does not manage lots inside your plant; you still need one of the systems above or an ERP.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
$32000/yr

Pros

  • Documents a traceability module aimed at FSMA 204 compliance tracking
  • Includes a recipe formulation and nutrition-labeling tool (Genesis Foods) supporting labels for 33 countries
  • Provides a supplier compliance and quality management module for audit readiness

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to contact sales or request a demo
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the site
  • No specific third-party integrations (e.g., named ERP or WMS systems) are documented

Supplier compliance and ingredient documentation network

Included because it ranks and gets shortlisted by mistake. TraceGains is supplier compliance, specifications, formulation and CAPA with a 550,000-ingredient supplier network. It handles upstream ingredient documentation, not lot genealogy or recall execution. Veralto acquired it in October 2024 for $350M.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for supplier management, supplier compliance, CAPA, quality management, and audit management
  • Includes a formula management and specification management suite for R&D and packaging
  • Offers TraceGains Gather, a network for sharing supplier documents and sourcing ingredients

Cons

  • The site does not state pricing or a pricing model
  • The site does not describe whether the product is cloud-hosted, on-premise, or both
  • Named integration partnerships (e.g., SGS Digicomply, Esko) are announced without technical detail on how they connect

Serialization and digital-thread platforms

Unit-level serialization and EPCIS for DSCSA/EU FMD/FSMA

Unit-level serialization and aggregation with EPCIS event exchange and the six-year TI/TH/TS record retention DSCSA requires; first DSCSA provider in NABP's Interoperable Partner Program. The parent company sells line-level vision and serialization hardware. Overkill for non-serialized SMB discrete or food, essential for pharma and EU FMD.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for supply chain visibility, serialization, environmental monitoring, and regulatory compliance
  • States that solutions can be used individually or integrated with existing systems
  • Maps traceability across the full supply chain from raw material source to sale or dispense

Cons

  • No pricing information of any kind is stated on the site
  • No deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is described
  • Requires contacting the vendor via demo request rather than listing plans or pricing

GAMP 5 validated serialization SaaS for pharma CMOs and 3PLs

GAMP 5-validated serialization SaaS for pharma manufacturers, CMOs, repackers and 3PLs: serialization, SSCC aggregation, digital twins of trade items and containers, rework and decommission, with turnkey SAP ATTP/ICH and TraceLink integration and Zebra/NiceLabel print support. Country coverage includes DSCSA, EU FMD, Indonesia BPOM.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents integration with ERP and WMS systems for serialization data
  • Supports label printing through Zebra Cloud Connect and NiceLabel Label Cloud integrations
  • Provides a mobile app for scanning, verification, commissioning and decommissioning available on iOS and Android

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must contact the vendor
  • Site does not describe on-premise deployment options, only cloud SaaS
  • Technical details of how integrations with SAP ATTP, TraceLink and ICH are configured are not described on the site

Connected-products serialization GS1 Digital Link and EU DPP

Oslo-based connected-products platform: unit-level serialization, GS1 Digital Link QR codes, consumer-facing digital thread, and — increasingly relevant — the data carrier for the EU Digital Product Passport. Customers include FrieslandCampina and Honeywell; FSMA 204 interoperability pilots with Starfish and iFoodDS. No public reviews. Not a plant-floor lot system.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents a traceability module for tracking products across the supply chain lifecycle
  • Offers a compliance module targeting Digital Product Passport and FSMA 204 requirements
  • Provides QR-based consumer engagement with updatable on-pack digital content

Cons

  • No pricing information published; buyers must contact the vendor for a quote
  • Deployment model is not clearly specified beyond an option for a dedicated instance
  • No named ERP, MES, or other manufacturing system integrations described

Enterprise MES with serial as-built genealogy and SMT traceability

German enterprise MES with the strongest electronics traceability on this list thanks to the Cogiscan SMT acquisition: serial-level unit traceability, as-built genealogy, process interlocking that stops a non-conforming unit from advancing, and machine data capture across "thousands of machines." Automotive, e-mobility, med-tech, metals and injection molding. SAP-standard integration. Third-party profiles warn that "feature complexity could challenge smaller operational teams."

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
enterprise plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Offers a dedicated iTAC.MA.Suite for analysis at machine, line, and factory levels
  • Documents AI-supported solutions as part of its portfolio
  • Maintains subsidiaries in the USA, Mexico, China, and Japan alongside a global partner network

Cons

  • No pricing information of any kind is presented on the site
  • No deployment model (cloud, on-premises, or hybrid) is described for the product
  • No details are given on how the software integrates with other systems such as ERP or PLM

ERP and MES with strong built-in traceability

SMB MRP with lot/serial/expiry tracking in all tiers

The transparent-pricing benchmark for small manufacturers: $49, $69, $99 and $149 per user per month, with lot and serial tracking, expiry dates and a forward/backward event log in every tier. The catch is that barcode printing and scanning only arrive at the $99 Enterprise tier, and the API only at Unlimited. 170 Capterra reviews at 4.5; the consistent gripe is onboarding — "given a 1-hour training session then left to work it out" — and reporting.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$49/user/mo

Pros

  • Documents lot and serial number traceability across production and inventory
  • Includes a standard accounting module with balance sheet and profit and loss statement
  • Offers drag-and-drop production rescheduling and Gantt-based planning

Cons

  • Advanced Support and training hours are billed separately from the subscription
  • Quality control, subcontracting and serial number tracking are limited to Professional and higher plans
  • Maintenance management, multiple production sites and two-factor authentication require the Enterprise or Unlimited plan

SMB inventory with batch/serial traceability add-on

Free up to 30 SKUs, Core from $299 a month with unlimited users, then $249 a month more for the Traceability add-on (batch/lot, serial, barcode, expiry). Pricing is metered on sales orders, and that is where the reviews turn: a Trustpilot score of 2.1 on 12 reviews and G2 comments about subscriptions jumping "from $800 to $4,000" as order volume grew. Good product for a D2C brand on Shopify; read the pricing page twice.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$299/mo (free plan)

Pros

  • Documents native integrations with Shopify, Amazon and WooCommerce plus an open API
  • Includes lot and serial number traceability as a documented add-on
  • Provides a barcode-enabled Warehouse app for picking, packing and receiving

Cons

  • Core plan pricing adds separate monthly charges for traceability, warehouse management and manufacturing add-ons
  • Free plan is limited to 30 SKUs and only supports a Shopify ecommerce integration
  • Usage-based pricing for sales orders and additional locations is not stated as a fixed figure on the pricing page

Cloud ERP/MES for job shops with lot/serial and cert tracking

Cloud ERP/MES for 10–150-person CNC and sheet-metal shops — quoting, autoscheduling, job tracking, QC ready for AS9100D and ISO 9001, ITAR-secure — with lot and serial numbers and material certs living on the job traveler. G2 4.9 on 30 reviews; pricing is quote-only and reviewers call it "great compared to other ERP we have looked at." Weak spots: accounting integration and reporting. Note that G2's "Fulcrum" pricing page at $43–55 per user is a different product (a field-data app); do not conflate them.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for job tracking, scheduling, costing, quoting, purchasing, inventory, and quality control in one system
  • Provides an Autoschedule feature that the vendor states adjusts scheduling automatically based on production data and priority changes
  • Publishes API documentation

Cons

  • No pricing information published; buyers must request a demo to learn pricing
  • Cloud-only; no on-premise deployment option described
  • Integration details beyond migrating from named competitor systems are not documented

ERP+MES+QMS with as-built records for A&D and medical machining

ERP, MES, QMS and document control in one paperless system for precision shops in aerospace, defense and medical machining; 700-plus shops, Capterra 4.8 on 113 reviews. Lot and serial, certificate management, full audit trail and as-built job records, with a Government edition for ITAR and CMMC Level 2. Reviewers warn of a steep learning curve and call the integration process "the most painful part."

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents AS9100-oriented traceability capture for dimensions, callouts, and approvals
  • Documents ITAR-oriented access controls and a stated path toward CMMC Level 2 readiness
  • Documents FDA-oriented traceability documentation built into operations

Cons

  • Pricing is quote-based; no figures are published on the site
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the site
  • No specific third-party integrations are named or explained on the site

Cloud ERP/MES with machine-captured serial/lot genealogy

The automotive supply chain's cloud ERP/MES: genealogy captured "at the manufacturing moment" from the machine, serial tracking that prevents consumption outside the BOM, control plans, FMEA, SPC and PPAP in one database. Estimates run about $500 per user per month with $100k-plus implementations and annual TCO of $50k–$500k. G2 reviewers (4.0, 74 reviews): "initial setup is painful," "first 1–2 years can be difficult," and the Classic-to-UX transition removed features some plants relied on.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

ERP+MES with supplier-lot-to-shipment genealogy and recall reports

Single-database ERP+MES with real-time machine monitoring, built for plastics and injection molding and widely used in automotive, med-device and packaging. Traceability runs from supplier lot and serial through WIP to shipment, searchable by sales order, PO, serial, lot or work order, with genealogy and a Recall & Analysis report. Estimates start at roughly $25,000 a year or $250 per user per month with a five-user minimum. Software Advice 4.1 on 290 reviews; the complaints are dated UI, upgrade bugs and "pricey user licenses."

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Combines ERP and MES functionality in one shared database
  • Includes modules for injection molding, stamping, machining, assembly and tooling management
  • Documents quality management features for defect tracking, audits and traceability

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must contact the vendor for quotes
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the vendor's site
  • Integration mechanics with third-party systems are not detailed beyond general claims

Also credible at level 3–4: Epicor Kinetic (~$125/user/month, 10-user minimum, $50k-plus implementation; native lot, serial and genealogy; reviewers cite "frequent cost hikes"); Aptean Food & Beverage ERP (Business Central-based; native FSMA 204 features — supplier-lot capture at receiving, bidirectional trace with sortable-spreadsheet export, recall letters from CRM; reviewers dislike the reporting); Fishbowl (QuickBooks-tethered lot and serial for very small shops, 1,131 Capterra reviews at 4.2, "unreliable integrations with accounting software"); Odoo ($24.90/user/month annual; lots, serials, expiry and traceability reports across Inventory and MRP; the hidden variable is partner configuration cost).

The hardware and label layer

No software on this page works without data capture, and no vendor quotes it in the demo. Budget it yourself.

Realistic all-in hardware ranges (RMS Omega, JNRFID): entry barcode/RFID system $10–25k; mid-size $25–100k; enterprise $100–150k-plus; RFID middleware $1–5k a year basic, $15–50k advanced; ERP integration $50k-plus. Passive UHF labels run $0.15–0.30 each under 10k units, $0.05–0.08 at 100k-plus, and $0.50–2.00-plus for on-metal tags. A fixed RFID reader is $1,000–4,000 plus $100–250 per antenna; a handheld reader $1,500–3,000.

How to choose

1. Match the tool to the level, not the vendor to the keyword

Decide between level 3 (ERP lot control), level 4 (genealogy) and level 5 (serialization/digital thread) using the criteria above. Buying level 5 for a level 3 problem is the most expensive mistake in this category; buying level 3 for a level 4 problem is the most common.

2. Price the recall you are trying to avoid

The widely cited GMA/FMI figure is an average of $10M in direct cost per food recall, with 18% of surveyed multinationals reporting a $30–99M recall and 5% over $100M. AlixPartners puts automotive recalls at roughly $500 per vehicle with suppliers bearing 15–20%; McKinsey estimates quality events cost the medical-device industry $7–8.5B a year. Against that: MRPeasy Enterprise for 10 users is about $12k a year, SG Systems Professional for 10 users about $15.6k, Wherefour from about $7.2k, Trustwell from $32k, and Plex, DELMIAWorks or Epicor $100k-plus to implement.

3. Add the hardware and the labels to every quote

Use the ranges above. A "$600 a month" system for a three-line plant is realistically $600 a month plus $15–30k of scanners, printers, tablets and label software in year one. Mar-Kov and ParityFactory reviewers say this out loud; most vendors don't.

4. Know the integration failure modes

From reviews and implementation guides, in order of frequency: accounting connectors that don't work as advertised (Wherefour–Sage 50 and QBO, Fulcrum, Fishbowl–QuickBooks, ProShop's "most painful part"); skipping supplier-lot-to-internal-lot mapping at receiving, which is the foundational data most SMBs never capture; rework and untracked WIP breaking genealogy; multiple lot ID formats across sites; label engine mismatches (GS1-128 vs internal formats); and e-commerce packing across multiple lots.

5. Watch the pricing model, not the list price

Usage-metered tiers (Katana) and per-user enterprise seats with minimums (Plex, Epicor) bite differently but both bite. Barcode scanning is gated to higher tiers at MRPeasy and sold as a $249 add-on at Katana. Get the barcode and API tiers in writing before you compare.

6. Set realistic implementation expectations

ParityFactory sells a 90-day program and several MES vendors market 90-day SME go-lives; ERP data from SysGenPro puts single-site manufacturing ERP at 6–9 months, multi-site 9–14, regulated or global 12–18-plus. SaaS MRPs go live in weeks but you will be doing the configuration yourself.

The regulatory calendar, as it actually stands

FSMA 204 (food traceability): the compliance date is July 20, 2028, not January 20, 2026. FDA proposed the 30-month extension in the Federal Register on August 7, 2025 (90 FR 38084); Congress then enacted Pub. L. 119-37, section 780, directing FDA not to enforce before July 20, 2028, and FDA's May 28, 2026 notice confirmed it "intends to comply with this Congressional directive." The substance is unchanged: Key Data Elements for seven Critical Tracking Events (harvest, cool, initial pack, first land-based receiver, ship, receive, transform), traceability lot codes, and an electronic sortable spreadsheet delivered to FDA within 24 hours of a request. FDA held a public meeting on June 15, 2026 about lot-level "flexibilities" — inferred lot codes, ranges, mixed pallets, broken cases — with comments closed July 15 and a further roundtable September 25, 2026. Plan for: deadline 2028, lot-level requirements softened at the edges, not removed.

DSCSA (pharma): manufacturers, wholesalers and large dispensers are past the stabilization period. FDA's remaining blanket exemption covers small dispensers (25 or fewer pharmacist/technician FTEs) until November 27, 2027. Pharma and CMO buyers need EPCIS-capable serialization, not ERP lot control.

EU Digital Product Passport: the first hard date is February 18, 2027 for EV, industrial (over 2 kWh) and light-means-of-transport batteries under Regulation 2023/1542. ESPR delegated acts are expected for textiles and tires (2027), furniture (2028), mattresses (2029), toys (~2030), with electronics staggered 2026–2030. US exporters of batteries, apparel and electronics into the EU will need serialized, GS1 Digital Link-style identifiers; Kezzler and rfxcel already market DPP.

FDA UDI, IATF 16949, AS9100, ISO 13485, 21 CFR Part 11: unchanged, and the reason the discrete-manufacturing platforms (Plex, iTAC, ProShop, DELMIAWorks, Fulcrum) sell genealogy and audit trails rather than lot numbers alone.

Frequently asked questions

What is manufacturing traceability?

The ability to identify, for any finished unit or lot, every material and component that went into it (backward trace) and, for any material lot, every finished product it went into and where it shipped (forward trace) — plus, at higher maturity, the process parameters and quality results attached to each step.

What is the best software to track manufacturing processes and lots for a small company?

MRPeasy if you want lot and serial tracking from $49 per user per month with transparent tiers; Wherefour or Mar-Kov if you make food or formulated products and want one-click recall reports; Odoo if you have a partner to configure it. Katana works for D2C brands but read its usage-based pricing carefully.

Is ERP lot tracking enough for FSMA 204?

Often, if the ERP captures the supplier's traceability lot code at receiving, assigns lot codes at transformation, records ship and receive events with the required KDEs, and can export a sortable spreadsheet within 24 hours. Aptean, SG Systems and Wherefour do this natively; generic ERPs usually need configuration or a bolt-on. Retailer-driven data sharing may additionally require a network platform such as Trustwell.

What is the difference between lot traceability and serialization?

Lot traceability tracks batches; serialization assigns a unique identifier to each unit (or case and pallet, with aggregation). DSCSA, EU FMD, FDA UDI and the EU Digital Product Passport require serialization; most food and general discrete manufacturing requires lots.

Do I need RFID or is barcode enough?

Barcode is enough for most lot-level traceability and costs a fraction of RFID. RFID earns its cost where line-of-sight scanning is impractical — pallets, totes, returnable containers, high-volume dock doors — or where a customer mandates it. Budget $10–25k for an entry RFID system before software.

How long does a traceability system take to implement?

Weeks for self-serve SaaS MRPs; about 90 days for plant-floor systems with a fixed-scope program (ParityFactory); 6–18 months for ERP/MES platforms depending on sites and regulation.

Sources and method

Prices marked verified appear on vendor pricing pages or vendor-maintained Capterra/Software Advice listings as of September 2026; third-party estimates (ERP Research, SoftwareConnect, Top10ERP) are labeled. Review quotes and ratings come from Capterra, G2, Software Advice, Gartner Peer Insights and Trustpilot. Regulatory status is from FDA.gov, the Federal Register (90 FR 38084; May 28, 2026 notice), Pub. L. 119-37, and EU Regulation 2023/1542. Hardware pricing is from Barcodes Inc, BarcodeFactory, RMS Omega and JNRFID. Recall-cost figures are from GMA/FMI, AlixPartners and McKinsey as reported by Food Safety Magazine and Lumafield. Where vendor HQ, founding year or a price could not be confirmed, we say "unknown" rather than guess. Ratings are not used to rank: dedicated traceability platforms have one to seven public reviews each, which tells you they sell through direct channels, not that they don't work.

Methodology

Researched and written by Oleksii Bilokamenskyi; last reviewed 13 September 2026. The sources behind every price and claim are listed above. Sponsored placements, if a page ever carries one, are labelled. How we rank. Spotted something out of date? Report an error.