Best Food Manufacturing Software & ERP (2026)

20 systems compared across four tiers — food-specific ERPs, SMB tools food makers actually use, enterprise platforms that need a food add-on, and compliance software that isn't an ERP. Last verified September 2026.

Updated · By , Founder, MetaProject · How we rank

A generic ERP handles widgets and assemblies. Food has recipes with variable yields, catch-weight items sold by the pound but shipped by the case, ingredients that expire, allergens that must follow every intermediate through the plant, and auditors who want a mock recall done in under four hours. That is why food manufacturers who buy a general-purpose system almost always end up buying a second one, and why the market has consolidated so hard that half the "vendors" in older comparison articles are now editions of Aptean.

This page sorts 20 products into four tiers so you compare like with like, publishes every price that exists (most food-specific ERPs publish none), states the FSMA 204 date as it actually stands, and quotes the regrets reviewers write after go-live. It is written for the owner, operations lead or controller at a US food or beverage maker between "we've outgrown QuickBooks" and "we have three plants."

Editorial note. No vendor paid for placement; sponsored listings, if any, are labeled. Method and sources are at the end.

This page sits under Best Manufacturing Software, which maps the whole category.

Quick answer

  • $200k–$2M revenue, DTC or wholesale, a few dozen SKUs: stay on QuickBooks and add Craftybase (from $24/month), Katana (from $299/month plus a $249 traceability add-on) or MRPeasy (from $49/user/month). None of them does catch weight or allergen management.
  • $2M–$20M, first real food ERP, want to keep QuickBooks or Xero: Wherefour (~$600/month, month-to-month), Mar-Kov (from CA$159/month), Vicinity (bolt-on to QuickBooks Online or Dynamics), or Icicle if food safety plans are the priority.
  • $3M–$80M meat, dairy, bakery or distribution-heavy: Minotaur (from $150/user/month, includes full accounting), CSB-System (strongest for slaughter/cut/pack), or BatchMaster.
  • $10M–$100M, replacing the accounting system too: Aptean Food & Beverage ERP (on Dynamics 365 Business Central), Deacom (concurrent-user, all-in-one), Datacor, or inecta (Business Central ISV).
  • $50M-plus or multi-plant: Sage X3, Infor CloudSuite Food & Beverage, NetSuite with a food partner, or SAP Business One with BatchMaster or ProcessForce.
  • Need SQF/BRCGS records digitized, not an ERP: SafetyChain; FoodDocs for smaller plants (from $99/site/month); TraceGains for supplier documentation.

Comparison table

Vendor, Tier, Best fit, Deployment, Pricing (verified), Catch weight, Formula / recipe, Allergen & shelf life, Accounting, FSMA 204, Reviews
VendorTierBest fitDeploymentPricing (verified)Catch weightFormula / recipeAllergen & shelf lifeAccountingFSMA 204Reviews
Aptean Food & Beverage ERPFood ERPMid to enterprise, multi-siteCloud (Business Central)Quote; ~8-month implementations reportedYesYesYesNative (BC)NativeG2 4.1 (31)
BatchMaster ERPProcess ERPBakery, dairy, beverage, nutraceuticalsOn-prem or cloudQuote (third-party figures range $70–$1,250/user/mo — unreliable)YesYes, with nutrition panelsYesQuickBooks, Sage 100/300, SAP B1, D365 BC/GPYesCapterra 4.4 (17)
WherefourFood ERP-liteSmall to lower-midCloud~$600/mo (third party); month-to-month; no tiersYesYesYesQBO/QBD, Xero, Sage, DynamicsNativeG2 4.5 (53), Capterra 4.7 (63)
ParityFactory (Advantive)Plant-floor WMS/MESMid meat, seafood, produceCloud/hybrid + scalesQuote; fixed-cost ~90-day implementationYesRecipe/yieldLotIntegrates to your ERPYesG2 3.5 (2)
Mar-KovProcess MES/ERPSmall to mid bakery, specialty, supplementsCloudFrom CA$159/mo (Capterra)UnknownYes, versionedYesQBO/QBD, Sage 50HACCP/Part 11Capterra 5.0 (7)
CSB-SystemFood ERP/MESMid to large meat, poultry, dairyOn-prem or cloudQuoteYesYesYesOwnYessparse
Deacom (ECI)All-in-one process ERP51–1,000 employeesCloud (new sales)Quote; concurrent users, 5-user minimum; est. $80k–$400k total projectYesScalable formulas, e-sig batch recordsYesOwn; no QuickBooks pathYesSoftware Advice 3.7 (10)
Datacor ERPProcess ERPMid ingredients, bakery, beverage, pet foodCloud/on-premQuoteUnknownYes, versionedYesOwnYessparse
Icicle ERPFood-safety-first ERPSmall to mid meat, seafood, bakeryCloudQuoteYesYesYes, automated HACCPQuickBooks nativeYesCapterra 4.3 (3)
MinotaurFood ERP + accounting$3M–$80M meat, dairy, bakery, distributorsWeb + mobileFrom $150/user/mo (Capterra)Yes (weigh-and-label)YesLot/serialOwn GL/AP/ARLot-levelCapterra 4.8 (12)
Vicinity / VicinityFoodFormula bolt-onBeverage, sauces, snacks keeping their accountingCloudQuoteUnknownUnlimited formulas, batch ticketsLot, QCQBO, D365 BC/GP/NAV/SLLot-levelCapterra 4.3 (4)
inecta Food ERPBC ISVMid seafood, meat, dairy, produceCloud (Business Central)Quote; ~$150k first year est.Yes (case + actual)50-level BOMsBig-9 allergens inheritedNative (BC)Nativesparse
MRPeasySMB MRPSnacks, beverage, supplements, small co-packersCloud$49 / $69 / $99 / $149 per user/moNoBOM/recipeLot, expiryQBO, XeroLot-levelG2 4.6 (58)
KatanaSMB inventoryDTC food on ShopifyCloudFree (30 SKUs); Core from $299/mo + $249/mo traceability add-on; usage-meteredNoRecipe/BOMBatch, expiry (add-on)QBO, XeroBasicG2 4.4 (123)
FishbowlQuickBooks inventoryDistribution-heavy makersOn-prem or cloudQuote; trialNoBOM/work ordersLot, expiryQBO/QBE, XeroBasicCapterra 4.2 (1,131)
CraftybaseMicro-maker toolCottage bakery, confectionery, DTCCloud$24 / $49 / $99 / $149 / $349 per mo; lot tracking from $49NoRecipes, COGSLot (Studio+)QuickBooks PO syncNosparse
Dynamics 365 Business Central + food ISVEnterprise platformMid-marketCloud$80 Essentials / $110 Premium per user/mo + ISV $30–80; implementations $80k–$260kVia ISVVia ISVVia ISVNativeVia ISV
Oracle NetSuite + partnerEnterprise platformMid to enterpriseCloud$99–$999/user/mo + platform fee (est.)Verify in demoYesYesNativePartner
Sage X3Enterprise process ERP$20M–$500MCloud/on-prem$2,500–$3,500/user/yr; first-year $650k+ (est.)Native dual UoMYesCascade through BOMsNativeKDE/CTE capture
Infor CloudSuite Food & BeverageEnterpriseMid to largeCloud$150–$500/user/mo, 6–18 months (est.)YesYesYesNativeYesnone verified

Compliance add-ons profiled below: SafetyChain (quote; SA 4.6 on 92), FoodDocs ($99–$299/site/month), TraceGains (Veralto; quote).

Why food breaks generic ERPs

REA Advisory's write-up on food ERP is the clearest statement of the problem: catch weight "breaks standard order and invoice processing"; without "recipe versioning, yield variance tracking, and multi-output costing" your cost figures "look precise but aren't"; and FEFO failures surface downstream as "errors in COGS calculations, order fulfillment accuracy, and financial reporting." Microsoft's own partner channel says Business Central buyers "almost without exception" need a food ISV for catch weight, formulation, allergen and shelf life. The table's four feature columns exist because those are the four places generic systems fail.

There is a fifth: co-packing. If you manufacture for brands, you need customer-owned inventory segregated, costing by run and customer, tolling versus finished-goods pricing, customer-specific specs and labels, and the ability to hand lot data to a brand that remains legally responsible for the recall. Vendors with an explicit contract-manufacturing story: Deacom, Datacor, Wherefour, MRPeasy.

The vendors

Tier A — Food-specific and process ERPs

Consolidated food ERP on Dynamics 365 BC (JustFood bcFood editions)

The consolidator. Since 2018 Aptean has absorbed JustFood, bcFood, Foodware, LINKFRESH, Produce Pro and DIN, and through Open Systems, ProcessPro; "JustFood" today is the JustFood Edition of this product, not a company. Built on Dynamics 365 Business Central, it delivers the full food feature set — recipe, bidirectional lot trace, FEFO, allergen, shelf life, catch weight, SQF/BRC/HACCP documentation, recall management — plus GenAI query and AI agents shipped in 2026. G2 reviewers (4.1 on 31) praise the traceability and the implementation teams and dislike the "outdated" interface, slow reports and support response, and customization costs; G2 data shows an average eight-month implementation and 16-month ROI. Quote-only. The right answer for a $10M–$100M+ multi-site maker; ask about edition sunset dates given the acquisition history.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents support for total traceability across production
  • Documents quality management functionality
  • Documents regulatory compliance features

Cons

  • Pricing is not disclosed on the site; buyers must request a demo
  • Specific third-party integrations for the Food & Beverage ERP are not listed on the site
  • Deployment details specific to this product are not separated from the general platform description

Process ERP with formulation and nutrition panels; bolts onto QuickBooks/Sage/SAP B1/BC

Irvine-based process ERP with the deepest formulation tooling in the mid-market — recipes that adjust dynamically to nutritional, physical and cost targets, FDA nutrition fact panels, allergen and FEFO, bidirectional lot trace. Its unusual strength is that it bolts onto the accounting system you already have: QuickBooks, Sage 100/300, SAP Business One (as an add-on), Dynamics 365 BC and GP. Capterra 4.4 on 17: "traceability of lots is a breeze," support resolves "in 24 hrs," but the SDS module is "archaic" and exported reports are hard to edit. Ignore the wildly divergent third-party prices ($70 to $1,250 per user per month); get a quote.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
small plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for formulation, packaging management, costing, inventory, production, quality, planning/scheduling, lot traceability and recall, and mobile warehousing
  • Offers both cloud (including a private cloud option) and on-premise deployment
  • Can integrate as an add-on to existing financial systems such as QuickBooks, SAP Business One, Dynamics, and Sage

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs buyers to contact sales or request a demo
  • Site does not describe how the listed financial-system integrations work technically
  • Industry-specific 'out of the box' applications are described only at a high level without detail on configuration limits

Small-plant food ERP with all features in every plan; month-to-month

The most-liked small-plant food ERP on review sites (G2 4.5 on 53, Capterra 4.7 on 63). Lot tracking, batch control, FSMA 204 and mock-recall reports, MRP and forecasting, catch weight and FIFO/FEFO are in every plan — the vendor explicitly refuses "premium tiers for basic features" — on a month-to-month contract with no long-term commitment. Third parties put it around $600 a month. Reviewers call the reporting "clunky," often delivered by email, and the PDF template editor "finicky." Integrations: QuickBooks, Xero, Sage, Dynamics, Shopify, Amazon, ShipStation.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
~$600/mo

Pros

  • Documents lot-level inventory tracking with FIFO, FEFO, LIFO and custom lot selection
  • Includes a production module with batch costing and yield tracking
  • Provides MRP with one-click purchase order generation and scenario testing

Cons

  • No published price list; pricing requires a custom quote
  • Deployment model (cloud vs. on-premise) is not described on the site
  • Accounting integrations are named but configuration details are not documented

Plant-floor materials control for meat/seafood/produce; 90-day implementation

Not an ERP: a plant-floor materials-control system with scales, scanners and screens "streamlined for plant workers," sold with a fixed-cost 90-day implementation and integrated to whatever ERP you keep. Best for meat, seafood and produce processors that need real-time inventory and instant lot trace at the dock. Only two G2 reviews (3.5) — reference calls are mandatory.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents automatic FIFO and GS1 labeling for lot tracing
  • Includes an optional quality module for data capture via handheld scanners
  • Integrates with multiple named ERP and accounting systems including NetSuite and QuickBooks

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must request a demo to learn cost
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described on the site
  • Quality control functionality (PF Quality) is an optional add-on rather than built in

Process ERP/MES with versioned formulations and Part 11

Toronto-based, from CA$159 a month on Capterra, with versioned formulations, barcode lot tracking, electronic quarantine, QC test data and 21 CFR Part 11 support. Seven Capterra reviews, all 5.0, praise how "thoroughly" it captures trace data and the "dedicated" support; the trade-offs are Excel-only report printing, slowness on large history, and heavy initial data entry. Integrates with QuickBooks Online and Desktop, Sage 50, ShipStation.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
small plants
Pricing
From CA$159/mo

Pros

  • Documents electronic batch records and 21 CFR Part 11 compliant signatures on the Regulated plan
  • Supports integration with scales and PLC equipment to record weights and automate manufacturing steps
  • Includes a laboratory information management module for tracking samples, test results, and certificates of analysis

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to book a demo
  • Advanced compliance features such as 21 CFR Part 11 signatures are limited to the Regulated plan tier
  • The site does not specify which deployment option, SaaS or server-installed, applies to each plan

Food-native ERP/MES strongest in meat/poultry/dairy

German food-native ERP/MES with 1,200-plus installations in 50 countries and North American offices in Georgia and Ontario. The strongest choice on this list for slaughter, cut and pack operations — catch weight, line integration and machine-vision QC on one data model — in tiers from CSB BASIC to INDUSTRY ERP. US review coverage is nearly nonexistent; expect an enterprise sales cycle.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents ERP modules for quality and compliance, accounting, and workforce management
  • Includes shop floor systems such as picking, warehouse management, and OEE and line visualization
  • Offers machine vision products including image processing and sex recognition technology for meat processing

Cons

  • No pricing information published; buyers must request a demo appointment
  • Deployment model is not clearly specified per product line, mixing on-premises hardware, data center and cloud service offerings
  • No specific third-party integrations are named beyond CSB's own module names

All-in-one process ERP; concurrent-user 5-seat minimum

All-in-one process ERP with no bolt-ons: scalable formulas, batch records with e-signatures, catch weight, co-product costing, one-up/one-down lot trace, nutrition and allergen data generated from formulas, CoA generation, and FDA validation in the Enterprise tier. Cloud-only for new customers, licensed by concurrent user with a five-user minimum; estimates run $80k–$400k for a full project. Reviews are mixed (Software Advice 3.7 on 10): fast MRP and "all in one" on the plus side, "a ton of windows," "not intuitive," and implementation inconsistencies on the minus. ECI acquired Deacom in 2021.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents lot tracking from raw materials through finished goods and shipments
  • Includes an MRP tool that drives purchasing from sales forecasts
  • Supports quality control specs with target values and min/max acceptance ranges

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to request a demo or pricing
  • Deployment is described as cloud-based, with no on-premises option mentioned
  • Material issuance to jobs relies on separate scan-gun hardware paired with the Deacom WMS

Process ERP for ingredients bakery beverage pet food

Process ERP for ingredients, bakery, beverage, snacks and pet food, with cradle-to-grave lot traceability, versioned formulation with cost estimation, nutrition labeling and allergen declarations, shelf life, CoA and an MES with digital work instructions. A common confusion: ProcessPro is not Datacor's — it went to Open Systems in 2016 and is now Aptean's ProcessPro Edition (historic pricing: about $100,000 on-premise for five concurrent users including implementation, or $3,000 a month SaaS plus $60,000 in services). Datacor itself is quote-only with thin public reviews.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Food-safety-first ERP with automated HACCP and QuickBooks integration

Richmond, BC; founded 2010 by Steven Burton; the food-safety-first ERP — automated HACCP and food-safety plans, GFSI (SQF/BRCGS) support, traceability, supplier and maintenance management, with native QuickBooks integration. Three Capterra reviews (4.3, support 5.0): traceability "exceeds our expectations," but it "doesn't do well with on-the-fly adjustments," is "data entry heavy," and "will freeze unexpectedly."

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents lot-level traceability records, transformation records, mock recalls, and mass balance checks
  • Includes HACCP plan development and validation tracking for USDA-regulated facilities
  • Covers production planning, inventory, quality, maintenance, and costing modules within one system

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to book a demo
  • Named third-party integrations are not specified on the site

Food ERP with full accounting and catch weight for $3M-80M processors

Ontario-built ERP with full accounting (GL, AP, AR), EDI, manufacturing, QC, lot and serial tracking, recipes and catch weight via weigh-and-label to sales orders; Capterra lists $150 per user per month and the vendor targets $3M–$80M processors and distributors with five or more users. Especially strong in meat (RFID ear tags, weigh-and-label). Capterra 4.8 on 12: "very reliable," "incredibly flexible," with a "steep learning curve," a GUI that "could be smoother," and customization costs that accumulate. Sold in the US by CAI Software.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
small plants
Pricing
From $150/user/mo

Formula/batch bolt-on for QuickBooks Online and Dynamics

Marietta, GA, since 2001; the formula-management bolt-on for makers who want to keep QuickBooks Online or Dynamics 365 (BC, GP, NAV, SL): unlimited formulas and recipes, batch tickets, lot tracking, recall, QC, light MES and scheduling. Popular with breweries and beverage. Capterra 4.3 on 4 with support at 5.0; onboarding is "pretty intensive."

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents handling of formulas and batch tickets rather than standard bills of material and work orders
  • Addresses variance and yield calculations for raw materials measured by weight or volume
  • Supports blending or compounding bulk product before packaging into multiple package sizes

Cons

  • No pricing information is provided on the site
  • Deployment model (cloud, on-premise, or hybrid) is not described
  • Integration mechanics with Microsoft Dynamics beyond being an extension are not detailed

Business Central ISV with catch weight and Big-9 allergen inheritance

New York-based Business Central ISV for seafood, meat, dairy, produce and frozen (customers include Cooke Seafood and Island Creek Oysters): catch weight with case and actual weight, lot attributes including the Big-9 FDA allergens inherited through production, 50-level BOMs, batch costing, FSMA 204 features. Third-party estimate of about $150,000 in year one including implementation, over "a few months to under a year." SoftwareConnect flags "no API support" and no free trial — verify both.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote (~$150k yr1 est.)

Pros

  • Documents food-specific features such as lot traceability, catch weight, and shelf-life/expiration controls
  • Built on Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, giving a familiar Microsoft ecosystem
  • Lists integrations with a range of named business tools including EDI, e-commerce, and shipping providers

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must book a discovery call to get plan details
  • Site does not describe how the listed integrations are technically implemented or supported
  • No on-premise deployment option is described; the product is presented only as cloud-based

Tier B — General SMB tools food makers actually use

SMB MRP with lot/expiry tracking; no catch weight

Transparent per-user pricing ($49–$149), lot and expiry tracking from the Starter tier, QC and serials at Professional, barcode and multi-site at Enterprise ($99). G2 reviewers (4.6 on 58) use it to "track backwards from finished product lots to ingredient lots" for HACCP and like the QuickBooks/Xero sync; they dislike limited reporting and the absence of phone support. No catch weight, no allergen module. Right for snacks, beverage, supplements and small co-packers with case-based products.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$49/user/mo

Pros

  • Documents lot and serial number traceability across production and inventory
  • Includes a standard accounting module with balance sheet and profit and loss statement
  • Offers drag-and-drop production rescheduling and Gantt-based planning

Cons

  • Advanced Support and training hours are billed separately from the subscription
  • Quality control, subcontracting and serial number tracking are limited to Professional and higher plans
  • Maintenance management, multiple production sites and two-factor authentication require the Enterprise or Unlimited plan

DTC-friendly inventory with traceability add-on; usage-metered pricing

Free to 30 SKUs, Core from $299 a month with unlimited users, and add-ons at $149–$249 a month — batch, serial and expiry tracking live in the $249 Traceability add-on. Strong Shopify and QuickBooks integration and a well-liked UI (Software Advice 4.6 on 171). The reviews that matter are about pricing: tiers are metered on sales-order lines, so "our high order count, not our actual revenue, automatically bumped us into higher pricing tiers," and a six-year customer reports migrating "at approximately one-quarter Katana's cost." No allergen, catch weight or FSMA-specific features.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$299/mo (free plan)

Pros

  • Documents native integrations with Shopify, Amazon and WooCommerce plus an open API
  • Includes lot and serial number traceability as a documented add-on
  • Provides a barcode-enabled Warehouse app for picking, packing and receiving

Cons

  • Core plan pricing adds separate monthly charges for traceability, warehouse management and manufacturing add-ons
  • Free plan is limited to 30 SKUs and only supports a Shopify ecommerce integration
  • Usage-based pricing for sales orders and additional locations is not stated as a fixed figure on the pricing page

QuickBooks inventory with lot and expiry tracking

Orem, Utah; the QuickBooks inventory workhorse with 1,131 Capterra reviews (4.2). Lot tracking, expiration dates, BOMs and work orders, multi-location, barcode. Reviewers report email notifications that stop until reboot, limited reporting and rigid accounting workflows. No formula scaling, allergen or catch weight — it is inventory software that a distribution-heavy food business can live in for a while.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$229/mo (Manufacturing from $675/mo)

Pros

  • Documents two-way integration with QuickBooks Desktop, QuickBooks Online, and Xero
  • Includes a mobile barcode scanning app (Fishbowl GO) for receiving, picking, and shipping
  • Tracks lots, serials, and expiry dates for traceability and recall reporting

Cons

  • No specific pricing figures are published; the site directs buyers to request pricing
  • Deployment mixes a hosted option with QuickBooks Desktop-tied usage, and the site does not clearly separate cloud versus desktop editions
  • Advanced manufacturing scheduling and AI features are described mainly at a marketing level without technical documentation on the pages reviewed

Recipes COGS and lot tracking for micro food makers

For cottage and micro makers: Pro $24, Studio $49 (adds batch/lot tracking), Indie $99, Business $149 (adds traceability reports), Growth $349 per month, with a 14-day trial and QuickBooks purchase-order sync. Recipes and COGS are the point; there is no MRP depth, allergen, catch weight or compliance documentation. The correct first step for a $200k bakery and the wrong last step for a $2M one.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$20/mo

Tier C — Enterprise platforms that need a food layer

Mid-market ERP requiring a food ISV for catch weight/formulation

List prices for 2026: Essentials $80, Premium $110 (required for manufacturing), Team Members $8, Device $45 per user per month. Food ISVs — Aptean's bcFood/JustFood editions, inecta, Foodware 365 — add roughly $30–$80 per user per month, and food-processor implementations run $80k–$260k. A 30-user example is $2,754 a month in licensing before the ISV. The advantage is the Microsoft ecosystem and partner depth; the caution is that BC alone is not food software.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$80/user/mo (Premium $110)

Pros

  • Documents AI agents for expense reporting, sales order processing, and payables
  • Includes read-only access to Business Central data through Microsoft Teams at no additional cost
  • Available across desktop, tablet, and mobile on Windows, macOS, Android, and iOS

Cons

  • Sold and supported exclusively through Microsoft's partner network, not directly from the vendor
  • Pricing pages do not describe how third-party or non-Microsoft system integrations are implemented or supported
  • Manufacturing-specific capabilities are only included in the higher-priced Premium plan

Mid-market cloud ERP; food logic via partners/SuiteApps

$99–$999 per user per month plus a platform fee (ERP Research), three-to-twelve-month implementations, mid-market to enterprise. Marketing claims recipe, lot, catch weight and shelf life; whether those are native or via SuiteApps and partners (RF-SMART for WMS and labels) is not clear from public sources. Verify catch weight in the demo, on your items, before signing.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Enterprise process ERP with native catch weight and allergen cascade

Native dual unit of measure for catch weight, allergen cascade through BOMs, FSMA 204 KDE/CTE capture and a mock recall "within minutes." Cost is the filter: ERP Research's 2026 US figures are $2,500–$3,500 per user per year in the cloud, $650k–$900k first-year for a 60-user single plant and $1.6M–$2.4M multi-plant, with services at 1.8–3× first-year licensing and six-to-24-month timelines. Best fit $20M–$500M; "overpowered" under $10M by the analyst's own description.

Deployment
Hybrid
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for production, financial, and supply chain management in one platform
  • Supports lot, batch, and recall traceability controls
  • Provides multi-entity, multi-country, multi-currency operations

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; the site directs visitors to request pricing
  • Specific mechanics of GraphQL API and partner accelerator integrations are not detailed on the pages reviewed
  • Deployment timeline of 50 project days is described only for standard scenarios, not fully detailed for complex rollouts

SAP Business One with BatchMaster or ProcessForce; Acumatica with the Process Manufacturing Suite. SAP B1 lacks native formula and process features, so food makers add BatchMaster Manufacturing for SAP B1 or CompuTec ProcessForce. Acumatica prices by consumption rather than per user and markets lot tracking, allergen, nutritional labeling, CoA and recall notices, with the formula depth coming from eWorkplace Apps (BatchMaster's parent). Pricing for both is partner-quoted.

Tier D — Compliance and food-safety software (not ERPs)

FSQA plant management: HACCP SQF/BRC records OEE

Digital plant management for FSQA: HACCP monitoring, SQF/BRC/FDA/USDA records, OEE, supplier quality. Software Advice 4.6 on 92 and G2 4.5 on 118, quote-only in Essential, Advanced and Supplier tiers. Reviewers note slowness syncing large inspection volumes, limited built-in analytics and a learning curve. It sits alongside an ERP; it does not replace one.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Provides no-code digital forms for inspections, quality checks, and audits
  • Includes CAPA workflows for tracking corrective and preventive actions
  • Supports mobile access to SOPs and compliance documents during workflows

Cons

  • Pricing is not published; buyers must book a demo to learn cost
  • No specific third-party systems or ERPs are named for integration, only general claims of connecting with existing systems

HACCP builder and monitoring with per-site pricing

HACCP plan builder and monitoring with published per-site pricing — Lite $99, Standard $199, Professional $299 a month, annual discounts to $79/$167/$250, and Professional adding traceability logs, batch monitoring and recall data. G2 4.9 on 18. Built primarily for foodservice and central kitchens; light for manufacturers, and downloaded reports are "not very well formatted."

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
small plants
Pricing
$99-299/site/mo

Pros

  • Generates a HACCP plan including hazard analysis, critical control points, SOPs and flow charts
  • Provides a mobile app with task notifications and educative instructions
  • Includes a traceability logging system with recall data tracking

Cons

  • Enterprise-tier integrations and pricing require contacting sales rather than being published
  • Onboarding implementation fees of 999 or 1,249 USD are charged separately from the subscription price
  • Data export for deeper analysis is limited to the Professional plan and above

Supplier compliance specs and formula R&D network

Supplier compliance, ingredient specifications, document management and formula R&D, with a network of 550,000-plus ingredients and 80,000 supply-chain locations. Acquired by Veralto in October 2024 for $350M. The tool for a mid-market maker whose SQF supplier-approval program has become a full-time job — not a traceability or ERP system.

Deployment
Cloud
Target size
mid-size plants
Pricing
Quote

Pros

  • Documents modules for supplier management, supplier compliance, CAPA, quality management, and audit management
  • Includes a formula management and specification management suite for R&D and packaging
  • Offers TraceGains Gather, a network for sharing supplier documents and sourcing ingredients

Cons

  • The site does not state pricing or a pricing model
  • The site does not describe whether the product is cloud-hosted, on-premise, or both
  • Named integration partnerships (e.g., SGS Digicomply, Esko) are announced without technical detail on how they connect

How to choose

1. Find your tier by revenue and complexity, not by feature list

Vendors' own targeting is the best guide. Minotaur names $3M–$80M; Sage X3 calls under $10M overpowered; Infor and CSB are $50M-plus territory; MRPeasy, Katana and Craftybase are for makers who still run the business in QuickBooks. Top10ERP's 2026 benchmarks: $1–10M revenue companies spend $3k–$25k in year one at $40–$200 per user per month; $10–50M companies $20k–$125k. Companies "spend between 1% and 3% of annual revenue" on ERP and "underestimate implementation costs by 30–50%."

2. Know the QuickBooks ceiling before you hit it

Nobody publishes a revenue threshold. The operational triggers are consistent across advisors: QuickBooks cannot distinguish raw materials, WIP and finished goods in real time; it has no lot-level recall; it cannot cost yield or production. In practice the break comes when a customer or auditor demands a mock recall in under four hours, when SKU count and multi-lot batches exceed what a spreadsheet tracks, or when a co-packing customer wants lot data you can't produce. Craftybase, Katana and MRPeasy extend QuickBooks' life; Wherefour, Mar-Kov, Vicinity and BatchMaster let you keep it as the ledger with real food logic in front of it; Aptean, Deacom, Minotaur and the enterprise tier replace it.

3. Test the four food features on your own data

Catch weight, formula management with yield and versioning, allergen propagation, and shelf life with FEFO. Bring your worst item — the catch-weight case sold three ways, the recipe with a by-product, the ingredient with a Big-9 allergen that shows up in an intermediate — and make the vendor run it in the demo. NetSuite and Business Central in particular need this test because the food logic comes from a partner.

4. Price the implementation, not the license

Deacom $80k–$400k total, four-to-eight months. inecta ~$150k year one. Business Central food implementations $80k–$260k. Aptean averages eight months. Sage X3 $650k-plus first year. ProcessPro historically $60k–$100k in services for five users. Against that, Wherefour claims "weeks rather than months," ParityFactory sells a 90-day fixed-cost program, and the SaaS MRPs are self-serve. Implementation fees at mid-market typically equal one to three times first-year subscription.

5. Read the pricing model

Three models coexist: per user (MRPeasy $49–$149, Minotaur $150, BC $80–$110 plus ISV, Infor $150–$500, NetSuite $99–$999), concurrent user with minimums (Deacom's five-seat floor, ProcessPro), and usage or site-based (Katana's sales-order metering, FoodDocs per site, Acumatica by consumption). Katana's model is the documented pain point; concurrent licensing is the quiet bargain for plants with many occasional users.

6. Expect these regrets and plan around them

Across every vendor on this page, reporting is the number-one complaint — "clunky" (Wherefour), "limited" (MRPeasy), "difficult to customize" (Fishbowl), "export to Excel" (Minotaur, Mar-Kov), slow (Aptean). Budget for Power BI or an equivalent from day one. Dated interfaces (Aptean, ProcessPro, Deacom's "ton of windows"), data-entry burden and freezes (Icicle), and pricing-model changes (Katana) follow. Migration regrets, per Food Industry Executive, are about master data — units, allergens, shelf life, supplier lots — and "underestimating work-in-progress when bridging old and new lot codes."

7. Ask about ownership and roadmap

Aptean has absorbed at least seven food ERPs; ECI owns Deacom; Advantive owns ParityFactory; Veralto owns TraceGains. Consolidation is not bad in itself, but ask which edition you are buying, whether it is the one getting investment, and what the sunset policy is.

Compliance calendar

FSMA 204. The traceability rule's compliance date moved from January 20, 2026 to July 20, 2028. FDA proposed the 30-month extension in the Federal Register on August 7, 2025, and Congress separately barred enforcement before July 20, 2028 in the Continuing Appropriations, Agriculture and Extensions Act of 2026. FDA held a public meeting in June 2026 on lot-level flexibilities and has published a discussion paper, a tabletop exercise report and expanded FAQs. The requirements — Key Data Elements for seven Critical Tracking Events, traceability lot codes, and a sortable spreadsheet to FDA within 24 hours — stand. Manufacturer-relevant Food Traceability List items include soft cheeses, nut butters, ready-to-eat deli salads, finfish and shellfish, and fresh-cut produce. Aptean, Wherefour, inecta, Sage X3 and SG Systems have named FSMA 204 features; for everyone else, ask for the KDE/CTE mapping in writing.

SQF Edition 10. Finalized March 2026, with audits against it expected no earlier than January 2, 2027 (verify with SQFI). It adds mandatory environmental monitoring, documented change management and a food-safety-culture assessment, and steepens deductions on allergen management, product identification and traceability, and CAPA. Software implication: audit-ready lot genealogy, CAPA and document control, and supplier-approval records.

BRCGS Issue 9 has been in force since 2023 and emphasizes traceability tests and culture in the same way.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best ERP for a small food manufacturer?

For a first food ERP under roughly $20M in revenue that keeps QuickBooks or Xero as the ledger: Wherefour (most-liked on review sites, month-to-month), Mar-Kov (from CA$159/month, strong on formulation and Part 11) or Vicinity (bolt-on formulas). Below about $2M, Craftybase, Katana or MRPeasy on top of QuickBooks is usually enough.

How much does food manufacturing ERP cost?

Published prices: Craftybase $24–$349/month; MRPeasy $49–$149/user/month; Katana from $299/month plus $249 for traceability; Minotaur from $150/user/month; Mar-Kov from CA$159/month; Business Central $80–$110/user/month plus a $30–$80 ISV. Food-specific mid-market ERPs (Aptean, Deacom, BatchMaster, Datacor, inecta) are quote-only, with total first-year projects typically $80k–$400k. Enterprise (Sage X3, Infor, NetSuite) starts in the mid six figures.

Does QuickBooks work for food manufacturing?

As a ledger, yes, for a long time — many $2M–$20M makers run QuickBooks Online with Wherefour, Vicinity, BatchMaster or Fishbowl in front of it. As a manufacturing system, no: it cannot separate raw materials from WIP, track lots for recall, or cost yields.

What is catch weight and which systems handle it natively?

Selling by variable weight (pounds) while shipping by unit (cases). Native support is stated by Aptean, BatchMaster, Wherefour, ParityFactory, CSB, Deacom, Icicle, Minotaur, inecta, Sage X3 and Infor. MRPeasy, Katana, Fishbowl and Craftybase do not support it; NetSuite and Business Central need a partner solution — test it.

Is NetSuite good for food manufacturing?

It is a strong mid-market ERP with a large partner ecosystem, but the food-specific logic (catch weight, formulation, allergen cascade) comes from partners and SuiteApps rather than the core. Budget $99–$999 per user per month plus a platform fee and verify each food feature in a demo on your items.

What software do co-packers need?

Customer-owned inventory segregation, costing by run and customer, tolling and hybrid pricing, customer-specific specs and labels, short-run allergen changeovers, and lot data hand-off to the brand. Deacom, Datacor, Wherefour and MRPeasy address contract manufacturing explicitly.

Sources and method

Prices marked verified appear on vendor pricing pages or vendor-maintained Capterra, Software Advice or G2 listings as of September 2026; estimates from ERP Research, SoftwareConnect, Top10ERP, FlexiBake and the ERP Software Blog are labeled as such. Review quotes and counts are from G2, Capterra and Software Advice. Regulatory status is from FDA.gov and the Federal Register; SQF Edition 10 timing is from a vendor summary and should be confirmed with SQFI. Corporate history is from company press releases and acquisition announcements. Where HQ, founding year, catch-weight support or a price could not be confirmed, the table says "unknown." We do not rank on star ratings: food-specific ERPs have between two and thirty public reviews each, generic tools have hundreds, and that difference reflects sales channel, not quality.

Methodology

Researched and written by Oleksii Bilokamenskyi; last reviewed 13 September 2026. The sources behind every price and claim are listed above. Sponsored placements, if a page ever carries one, are labelled. How we rank. Spotted something out of date? Report an error.